Print this page

Fluid Mechanics

 

Staff

room

tel.: +3592

e-mail

Nikolay Kolev Vitanov, Prof. DSc. - Head

116

979 6416

vitanov@imbm.bas.bg

Elena Vancheva Nikolova,  Prof. PhD

308

979 6443

elena@imbm.bas.bg

Zlatinka Ivanova Dimitrova, Prof. PhD zdim@imbm.bas.bg
Angela Slavova, Prof. DSc

Polya Stoykova Dobreva, Assос. Prof. PhD

224

979 6433

polya2006@yahoo.com

Nina Filipova Filipova, Assoc. Prof. PhD

324

979 6454

philipova@imbm.bas.bg

Olga Nikolova Nicheva-Mileva, Assoc. Prof., PhD 224 979 6433 olgani@imbm.bas.bg
Mila Georgieva Chilikova-Lubomirova, Assoc. Prof., PhD - Secertary 224 979 6433 milachl@imbm.bas.bg

Svetla Petrova Miladinova-Marinova, Assist. Prof. PhD

226

979 6435

svetla@imbm.bas.bg

Stanislav Kotsilkov, Assist. Prof., PhD
308 979 6443 kotsilkov@imbm.bas.bg

Ivan Peichev Jordanov, PhD

116
979 6416 i_jordanov@email.bg
Krasimir Gospodinov Georgiev krasimir.georgiev@imbm.bas.bg
Huben Ganev, DSc huben@imbm.bas.bg
Yoana Stamenova-Chorbadjiiska
yoana.ch.stamenova@imbm.bas.bg
Polya Angelova

Associated members

 

 

 

Stefan Petrov Radev, Prof. D.Sc.

327

979 6457

stradev@imbm.bas.bg

Sonya Stoyanova Tabakova,  Prof. Ph.D.

423

979 6476

stabakova@imbm.bas.bg

Radko Petkov, Assoc. Prof, D. Sc.

rpetkov@imbm.bas.bg

Dantchi Hristova Koulova-Nenova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D.

336

979 6435

dantchi@imbm.bas.bg

Monio Donev Kartalev,Assoc.Prof.Ph.D.

 

 

kartalev@geospace4.imbm.bas.bg

Georgi Simeonov Vassilev, Assist. Prof.

328

979 6454

gsimeonov48@yahoo.co.uk

Ph. D. Students

 

 

 

Lalyo Kovachev 116 979 6416 lalyo.kovachev@imbm.bas.bg

 

 

Fluid mechanics is a fundamental scientific field studying the mechanical and statistical-mechanical aspects of three of the four basic states of matter. Responding to the wide spreading of the macro-and micro-fluid systems and to their great importance to technology and society the Fluid Mechanics Research Centre at the Institute of Mechanics conducts intensive research in the following areas:

 

  • Mathematical modeling and numerical simulation of liquid and gas flows encountered in technological and chemical processes in the environment;

 

  • Study of the dynamics and stability of capillary jets and droplets as well as thermo- and concentration-capillary instability of one- and two-layer systems of viscous liquids and binary systems;

 

  • Research of magnetohydrodynamic and electrohydrodynamic instability of magnetic and dielectric liquids;

 

  • Application of a hydrodynamic approach in modeling processes in the near-Earth cosmic space (atmosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere). The interaction between the solar wind and comets or nonmagnetic planets is modeled numerically;

 

  • Development of a droplet-making device for droplet-based irrigation systems by mathe- matical modeling and computer simulations;


  • Numerical modeling of recharge of watershed groundwater;


  • Model study of groundwater pollution along rivers and modeling the movement of pollution groundwater in river banks;


  • Control and monitoring of impacts on water systems, caused by natural and climate change and human activities;


  • Linear and nonlinear time series analysis of the evolution of the fluid system characteristics;

 

  • Development and application of methods for analytical and numerical solution of nonlinear differential, integral and integro-differential equations associated with the description of fluid systems;

 

  • Application of mathematical tools developed in connection with the mechanics and statistical mechanics of fluids and focused on the study of kinematics, dynamics and evolution of complex mechanical, chemical, biological, economic and social systems;


  • Numerical and analytical study of flows in bio-fluids with application in medicine.

 

 

 


 


Modified date:02-02-2024