Biomechanics is an interdisciplinary area, which involves theoretical and experimental investigations of the mechanical behavior of living systems. In particular, it includes the study of the human structures and functions on macro-, micro- and

nano-levels. Since deciphering of the human genome, new emerging biomechanical field is the investigation of the dynamical and rheological properties of DNA and protein molecules. Methods of non-linear continuum mechanics, of deterministic and statistical analyses of biomedical time series, of phase and bifurcation analyses of dynamical models, as well as 3D computer modeling and simulation of human motions are used. The obtained results extend the basic knowledge for the biomechanical processes in the living systems which take place under normal, pathological and extreme conditions on macro-, micro- and nano-levels. Studies are oriented to improve the diagnosis and therapy of certain diseases as orthopedic traumas, cardiovascular dis

orders and cancer as well as to design new elbow and ankle-foot orthoses.

Staff

room

phone:

(+359 2)

e-mail

Prof. Dr. Nadia Mladenova Antonova

112

979 6413

antonova@imbm.bas.bg

Prof. DSc. Svetoslav Ganchev Nikolov

107

979 6411

S.Nikolov@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ivan Edisonov Jordanov

107

979 6411

edissonov@abv.bg

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Petko Kiriazov Kiriazov

408

979 6467

kiriazov@imbm.bas.bg

Senior Assос. Prof. Dr. Miglena Kirilova-Doneva

227

979 6412

m.kirilova@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Dr. Ivan Mirchev Ivanov

112

979 6413

iivanov@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Dr. Gergana Stefanova Nikolova

104

979 6378

gergana@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Stefan Borisov Karastanev

432

979 6485

stefan@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Dr. Elitca Mihailova Petrova

227

979 6412

ely@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Dr. Eugeni Vladimirov Koytchev

110

979 2006

koytchev@imbm.bas.bg

Assist Prof. Vasilka Krumova Paskova

112

979 6413

v.kostova@imbm.bas.bg

Assist Prof. Momchil Nenov

107

979 6411

m.nenov@imbm.bas.bg

MSc. Eng. Radosvata Antonova

410

979 6468

radosveta@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Prof. Dr. Anika Svilenova Aleksandrova

104

979 6378

a.alexandrova@imbm.bas.bg

Dessislava Samuilova Despotova

208 979 6427 despotova85@imbm.bas.bg

Kamen Nikiforov Hristov

53 979 6450

Associated

Prof. DSc. Alexander Rachev

209

Assoc. Prof. Stoyan Stoytchev

312 979 6448

stoyan@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. Vladimir Mednikarov

53 979 6450