Print this page

Fluid Mechanics

 

Staff

room

tel.: +3592

e-mail

Nikolay Kolev Vitanov, Prof. D.Sc. - Head

116

979 6416

vitanov@imbm.bas.bg

Sonya Stoyanova Tabakova,  Prof. Ph.D.

423

979 6476

stabakova@imbm.bas.bg

Radko Petkov, Assoc. Prof, D. Sc. 224 979 6433 rpetkov@imbm.bas.bg

Dantchi Hristova Koulova-Nenova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D.

336

979 6435

dantchi@imbm.bas.bg

Elena Vancheva Nikolova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D. - Secertary

308

979 6443

elena@imbm.bas.bg

Polya Stoykova Dobreva, Assос. Prof. Ph.D.

224

979 6433

polya2006@yahoo.com

Nina Filipova Filipova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D.

324

979 6454

philipova@imbm.bas.bg

Olga Nikolova Nicheva-Mileva, Assoc. Prof., Ph. D. 224 979 6433 olgani@imbm.bas.bg
Mila Georgieva Chilikova-Lubomirova, Assoc. Prof., Ph. D. 224 979 6433 milachl@imbm.bas.bg

Svetla Petrova Miladinova-Marinova, Assist. Prof. Ph.D.

226

979 6435

svetla@imbm.bas.bg

Stanislav Kotsilkov, Assist. Prof., Ph. D.
308 979 6443 kotsilkov@imbm.bas.bg

Ivan Peichev Jordanov, Ph. D.

224 979 6433 i_jordanov@email.bg

Associated members

 

 

 

Stefan Petrov Radev, Prof. D.Sc.

327

979 6457

stradev@imbm.bas.bg

Monio Donev Kartalev,Assoc.Prof.Ph.D.

224

979 6433

kartalev@geospace4.imbm.bas.bg

Georgi Simeonov Vassilev, Assist. Prof.

328

979 6454

gsimeonov48@yahoo.co.uk

Ph. D. Students

 

 

 

Denislav Zdravkov Serbezov 308 979 6443 serbezov7@gmai.com
Krasimir Gospodinov Georgiev 116 979 6416
Rumen Ivanov Borisov 116 979 6416 r.borisov@hotmail.com

 

 

Fluid mechanics is a fundamental scientific field studying the mechanical and statistical-mechanical aspects of three of the four basic states of matter. Responding to the wide spreading of the macro-and micro-fluid systems and to their great importance to technology and society the Fluid Mechanics Research Centre at the Institute of Mechanics conducts intensive research in the following areas:

 

  • Mathematical modeling and numerical simulation of liquid and gas flows encountered in technological and chemical processes in the environment;

 

  • Study of the dynamics and stability of capillary jets and droplets as well as thermo- and concentration-capillary instability of one- and two-layer systems of viscous liquids and binary systems;

 

  • Research of magnetohydrodynamic and electrohydrodynamic instability of magnetic and dielectric liquids;

 

  • Application of a hydrodynamic approach in modeling processes in the near-Earth cosmic space (atmosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere). The interaction between the solar wind and comets or nonmagnetic planets is modeled numerically;

 

  • Development of a droplet-making device for droplet-based irrigation systems by mathe- matical modeling and computer simulations;


  • Numerical modeling of recharge of watershed groundwater;


  • Model study of groundwater pollution along rivers and modeling the movement of pollution groundwater in river banks;


  • Control and monitoring of impacts on water systems, caused by natural and climate change and human activities;


  • Linear and nonlinear time series analysis of the evolution of the fluid system characteristics;

 

  • Development and application of methods for analytical and numerical solution of nonlinear differential, integral and integro-differential equations associated with the description of fluid systems;

 

  • Application of mathematical tools developed in connection with the mechanics and statistical mechanics of fluids and focused on the study of kinematics, dynamics and evolution of complex mechanical, chemical, biological, economic and social systems;


  • Numerical and analytical study of flows in bio-fluids with application in medicine.

 

 

 


 


Modified date:18-02-2019