Print this page

Theme 1

Mathematical modeling and numerical simulations of phenomena and processes occurring in nonhomogeneous many-particle systems

 

staff

room

tel. (+359 2)

e-mail

Prof. DSc Daniel Danchev - Project leader

310

979 6447

daniel@imbm.bas.bg

Prof. DSc Jordan Brankov

304

979 6439

brankov@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. DSc Stanimir Iliev

329

979 6488

stani@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. Dr Stefan Stefanov

404

979 6463

stefanov@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. Dr Nina Pesheva

304

979 6439

nina@imbm.bas.bg

Assist. Nadezhda Banzarova

105

979 6701

nadezhda@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. member- Assoc. Prof. Dr Sl. Slavtchev

326

979 6456

slavcho@imbm.bas.bg

PhD student - Galin Valchev

105

979 6701

gvalchev@imbm.bas.bg

 

The goal of this project is the obtaining of new theoretical results for the fluctuation interactions and the thermodynamic behaviour of low-dimensional fluid systems. Density fluctuations of a low-dimensional fluid system, e.g., thin film, in the neighborhood of the critical point "fluid-vapor" leads to the appearance of an effective interaction force, known as Casimir force, between the plates confining the fluid and also to an effective interaction between objects immersed in the fluid. Depending on the material properties of the fluid and the immersed objects, this effective interaction could be an attractive force or an repulsive force. Taking into account the presence of this type of interaction is very important for the proper functioning of micro and nano- devices and of the nano-technologies. This is the reason why this kind of studies are so exceptionally popular now.

 

 

 

 

 



Modified date:04-06-2014