Print this page

Open Laboratory on Experimental Micro and Nano Mechanics (OLEM)

OLEM is a structural unit in the Department Fluid Mechanics.

 

Open Laboratory on Experimental Micro & Nano Mechanics (OLEM) was founded in 2010 and equipped under the Research Infrastructure Project DO-02-53, supported by the Bulgarian Science Fund, as well as under partial support from several European H2020 and FP7 Projects.

OLEM activities are focused on research, characterization and application of nanomaterials, as well as on education and training of young researchers.

OLEM is carrying a research on the development and characterization of polymer nanocomposites with graphene, carbon nanotubes, metal nanoparticles and clay, for functional and structural applications. The experimental and theoretical investigations are focused on approaches of fluid mechanics, surface mechanics, physical chemistry and physics. Methods of experimental and theoretical rheology, nanostructure characterization, thermal analysis, nanoindentation, tribology, deformation and fracture are mainly applied. Research results are expected to improve knowledge on the processing-structure-property relationships, percolation concept, interfacial phenomena, and design of nanocomposites for potential applications in electronics and mechatronics.

OLEM address is Acad. G. Bonchev Str., Block 4, 1113 Sofia, Bulgaria.


Staff

Room

Phone
(+359 2)

E-mail

Prof. D.Sc. Rumiana Kotsilkova

Head

405

979 6462

kotsilkova@imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Evgeni Ivanov

427

979 6481

ivanov_evgeni@imbm.bas

Assistant Ivanka Petrova

332

979 6475

ivanka.petrova@imbm.bas.bg

Assistant Verislav Angelov

429

979 6407

v.angelov@imbm.bas.bg

Assistant Hristiana Velihkova - PhD student

332

979 6475

hristiana_velichkova@imbm.bas.bg

Assistant Polya Angelova - PhD student

425 979 6481 p.angelova@imbm.bas.bg

Assistant Radost Ivanova - PhD student

425 979 6481 r.ivanova@imbm.bas.bg

Assistant Dr. Dzhihan Menseidov

429 979 6407 menseidov@imbm.bas.bg

Аssociated members

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Antonia Topliyska

405

979 6462

a.topliyska@mail.bg

 

 

 

OLEM LABORATORIES:


Micro and Nano Mechanics of Materials

Rheology and Thermal Analysis

Processing of Nanocomposites

3D Printing of Prototypes


Modified date:14-11-2017