Print this page

Fluid Mechanics

 

Staff

room

tel.: +3592

e-mail

Nikolay Kolev Vitanov, Prof. D.Sc. -Head

116

979 6416

vitanov@imbm.bas.bg

Stefan Petrov Radev, Prof. D.Sc.

327

979 6457

stradev@imbm.bas.bg

Sonya Stoyanova Tabakova,  Prof. Ph.D

423

979 6476

stabakova@imbm.bas.bg

Radko Petkov, Assoc. Prof, D. Sc. 224 979 6433 rpetkov@imbm.bas.bg

Dantchi Hristova Koulova-Nenova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D.

336

979 6435

dantchi@imbm.bas.bg

Krassimir Borissov Radev, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D.

102

979 6407

kbradev@imbm.bas.bg

Elena Vancheva Nikolova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D  - Secretary

308

979 6443

elena@imbm.bas.bg

Polya Stoykova Dobreva, Assос. Prof. Ph.D

224

979 6433

polya2006@yahoo.com

Nina Filipova Filipova, Assoc. Prof. Ph.D

324

979 6454

philipova@imbm.bas.bg

Olga Nicheva, Assist. Prof., Ph. D. 224 979 6433 olgani@imbm.bas.bg
Mila Chilikova-Lubomirova, Assist. Prof., Ph. D. 224 979 6433 milach@imbm.bas.bg

Svetla Petrova Miladinova-Marinova, Assist. Prof. Ph.D

226

979 6435

svetla@imbm.bas.bg

Georgi Simeonov Vassilev, Assist. Prof.

328

979 6454

gsimeonov48@yahoo.co.uk

Vassil Lazarov Frenkev, Assist. Prof.

332

979 6475

vasil@imbm.bas.bg

Ivan Peichev Jordanov, PhD

224 979 6433 i_jordanov@email.bg

Hristo Stefanov Iliev, Ph.D

224

979 6433

hristo@zonebg.com

Krum Grigorov Grigorov

224

979 6433

kpum@yahoo.com

Assoc. member-Monio Donev Kartalev,Assoc.Prof.Ph.D.

224

979 6433

kartalev@geospace4.imbm.bas.bg

Assoc. member-Georgi Simeonov Vassilev, Assist. Prof.

328

979 6454

gsimeonov48@yahoo.co.uk

 

 

Fluid mechanics is a fundamental scientific field studying the mechanical and statistical-mechanical aspects of three of the four basic states of matter. Responding to the wide spreading of the macro-and micro-fluid systems and to their great importance to technology and society the Fluid Mechanics Research Centre at the Institute of Mechanics conducts intensive research in the following areas:

- Mathematical modeling and numerical simulation of liquid and gas flows encountered in technological and chemical processes in the environment;

- Study of the dynamics and stability of capillary jets and droplets as well as thermo- and concentration-capillary instability of one- and two-layer systems of viscous liquids and binary systems;

- Research of magnetohydrodynamic and electrohydrodynamic instability of magnetic and dielectric liquids;

- Application of a hydrodynamic approach in modeling processes in the near-Earth cosmic space (atmosphere, ionosphere and magnetosphere). The interaction between the solar wind and comets or nonmagnetic planets is modeled numerically;

- Linear and nonlinear time series analysis of the evolution of the fluid system characteristics;

- Development and application of methods for analytical and numerical solution of nonlinear differential, integral and integro-differential equations associated with the description of fluid systems;

- Research and mathematical modeling of the dynamics and effectiveness of the flotation and separation for systems and equipment in mining and the food industry, as well as in water purification systems for the needs of the ecology and environment protection;

- Application of mathematical tools developed in connection with the mechanics and statistical mechanics of fluids and focused on the study of kinematics, dynamics and evolution of complex mechanical, chemical, biological, economic and social systems;

- Numerical and analytical study of flows in bio-fluids with application in the field of micro- and nano-mechanics of cell movement;

- Automated hydrotransport irrigation systems (pipe lines with multipoint outflows) are designed on the basis of original Bulgarian innovations. Computer-controlled water fountains have been built in Sofia and other Bulgarian cities.

 

 


 


Modified date:25-12-2016